New Hampshire DMV Test 2013
One of the biggest differences between the licensing procedure in New Hampshire and other states is that New Hampshire is probably the only place in the country that allows you to get behind the wheel and start driving without taking a learners permit test first. In fact, there is no such thing as a drivers permit in New Hampshire and teenagers can start driving with parents as soon as they are of the legal age. This is highly unusual as there is simply nothing that could explain why the state would allow people behind the wheel without making sure that they at least know the state traffic rules and driving laws. In New Hampshire, the 2013 written DMV test is taken prior to applying for a drivers license, along with a regular drivers test.
New Hampshire DMV Test Questions
The DMV permit test in New Hampshire is very similar to regular permit testing that is conducted in other states and contains questions on road rules, traffic signs and safe driving practices. The test contains 20 multiple choice questions. You are given 4 answers for each question and only one answer out of four is correct. You are allowed to miss four questions, so the passing score for the test is 80%. The Division of Motor Vehicles declares that there are no trick questions on the DMV test.
All of the knowledge test questions are based on the materials provided in the official New Hampshire drivers handbook, which is freely available over the Internet and at the DMV offices. Regardless of that, a very large portion of the first time test takers fail the exam. This happens due to the fact that many applicants underestimate the level of preparation required for passing the New Hampshire learners permit test and don't study at all.
To give you an idea of what kind of permit test questions you may expect on your real New Hampshire DMV test, here is a sample question you can try to answer:
“At railroad crossings with stop signs or light or other stop devices, a driver must stop __________ from the nearest rail of the track.”
- A. not less than 10 feet, not more than 40 feet
- B. not less than 15 feet, not more than 40 feet
- C. not less than 10 feet, not more than 50 feet
- D. not less than 15 feet, not more than 50 feet
You can find the answer to this practice question either in the drivers handbook or at the bottom of the page.
As you can see, this is not the kind of question that can be easily guessed, you have to know the answer. Of course, you may be able to guess one or two questions like this, but not all 20 of them. So if you want to make sure you pass the test the first time you take it, be smart and spend time preparing for the exam.
How to Prepare For The New Hampshire Written Test
Thankfully, today there is no shortage of information when it comes to getting ready to take your New Hampshire DMV test. Your first choice should probably be the state drivers manual that is distributed by the DMV free of charge and is available for download on the DMV site. The manual contains everything you need to know in order to be able to pass the New Hampshire permit test. In fact, since all DMV test questions come directly from the book, so in theory, you can pass the test just by reading the manual.
Once done with the handbook, look towards the New Hampshire practice permit test. Practice tests is a great way to test yourself and identify driving rules and regulations that you may have missed or misunderstood. Of course, as any other study aid, practice tests should be used in the correct way. Some students make the mistake of using practice tests as their only study resource, which does not produce good results. Make sure to combine New Hampshire DMV practice tests with other sources of information. We also offer a free NH DMV practice test and a New Hampshire drivers practice test. Both of these sample knowledge tests are free and feature unlimited sample questions.
Finally, we also have New Hampshire drivers education classes. Drivers ed courses is a great way to learn the state driving laws and also get some hands on driving experience behind the wheel. If you are under the age of 18, you must complete a drivers education class prior to applying for a drivers license, as mandated by the New Hampshire graduated drivers license law. If you are 18 years of age or older, completion of a drivers education class is not mandatory, but is still highly beneficial for you.
Taking the New Hampshire Knowledge Exam
As already mentioned, there is no such thing as a New Hampshire drivers permit and you take the test before applying for a drivers license. You have to be at least 15 ½ years of age in order to be eligible for the DMV permit test and if you are under 18 years of age, you must have already completed a drivers education course and at least 20 hours of supervised driving with your parents. The written test can be taken at any DMV office. Although making an appointment is not mandatory, you are highly advised to do so prior to visiting one of the offices. If you show up without a prior appointment and the office is excessively busy, you will not be tested and you will have to come another day.
In New Hampshire, the knowledge exam is part of a larger test that assesses your vision, knowledge of driving rules and your driving skills. When you arrive at the office for your New Hampshire DMV permit test, be prepared to present the following:
- proof of name
- proof of age
- proof of New Hampshire residency
- a vehicle for the driving test
- an application for a drivers license (can be obtained at the DMV)
If you are under 18 years of age, you must also furnish a drivers education certificate and a Parent or Guardian Authorization certificate (DSMV 38). Your parents or legal guardians must sign this form, accepting liability for your actions and granting their consent to you being licensed.
If your documents check out, you start by taking a vision exam. You will not be able to proceed to knowledge testing if your vision is not found adequate.
If you require special assistance with your learners permit test, you have to inform the examiner of this prior to the beginning of the test. Oral testing is available if you are unable to read or write in English. However, even in this situation, you must demonstrate the ability to read an understand traffic signs.
If you pass the drivers permit test, you will be directed to the site where you will take a New Hampshire drivers test. You must provide your own vehicle for the test. The vehicle must pass a basic safety inspection, be properly insured and titled. You cannot drive yourself to the test and must have another licensed driver accompany you.
If you fail any portion of the New Hampshire permit test, you will be given another testing date by the examiner. Please note that you have to retake all three parts of the exam next time, so make sure you are fully prepared before trying to pass the DMV exam.
Once you pass all three portions of the examination, you are granted a New Hampshire drivers license. If you are under 18 years of age, your license will have certain restrictions under the graduated license program. You may check out the drivers handbook for a full list of restrictions that you need to observe.
Sample DMV Test Answer
The answer to the sample question for the New Hampshire DMV test is D - “At railroad crossings with stop signs or light or other stop devices, a driver must stop not less than 15 feet, not more than 50 feet from the nearest rail of the track.”