Oklahoma Permit Test 2013
No matter your age, if you are applying for a learners permit or drivers license in Oklahoma, you will have to take the 2013 Oklahoma permit test. The permit test is required for correctly assessing your knowledge of the state driving rules and safe driving practices and you can prepare for it by reading the drivers handbook and taking free Oklahoma practice permit tests. The 2013 Oklahoma drivers permit test is conducted by the Department of Public Safety and you have to be at least 15 years, 6 months old before you are eligible for taking the test. Make sure to take a free Oklahoma permit practice test before you go in for the real thing, it will show you where you stand and whether you are really ready to tackle the exam.
Oklahoma Permit Test Questions
The drivers permit test in Oklahoma has 50 multiple choice questions and you will need to answer at least 40 of them correctly, which makes the passing score for the test 80%. According to the statistics, more than a half of all first time test takers fail it the first time they take it. Mostly this happens because people overestimate their knowledge of the state driving rules and don't study for the test. The majority of the test takers are under the misconception that they can pass the drivers permit test with having just the general knowledge of the traffic laws that they acquired throughout their lives and this cannot be further from the truth. The questions you will encounter on the Oklahoma permit test will require you have in-depth knowledge of the driving rules and road signs, knowing just the basics won't be of much use.
Just to give you an idea of what you will be facing on the real Oklahoma permit test, here is a practice sample question you may try to answer:
“It is illegal to park within _____ of the driveway entrance to any fire station.:
You can find the answer to this practice permit question at the bottom of the page.
As you can see, questions like this require you to know the answer, guessing won't do you much good. Of course, you can guess one or two answers, even if you choose the answers randomly, statistically you should get a score of 20%, but this won't be enough to pass the test. If you want to make sure that you pass your Oklahoma permit test the first time you take it, grab yourself some study materials and learn the rules.
Preparing for the Oklahoma Drivers Permit Test
Thankfully, there is no shortage of study materials when it comes to preparing for the knowledge test and you can find both free and paid resources that help you learn the rules of the road. We advise that you always start with the official Oklahoma permit test book while getting ready for the test. The book is provided by the DPS free of charge and you may either download it from the website or pick up a printed copy from one of the DPS offices. The questions you will encounter on the permit test come directly from this book, so theoretically this book is all you need. Teenage drivers license applicants should pay special attention to the graduated drivers license law described in the book as the law mandates the licensing procedure for all applicants under the age of 17.
Once done with the drivers handbook, you may also try taking the Oklahoma permit practice test. The tests come very handy for helping to identify the driving rules you might have missed while reading the driver handbook, but they are not very useful when utilized as the only study material. Please remember that permit practice tests are only a supplementary study resource. We also offer a free Oklahoma drivers permit practice test and Oklahoma DMV practice test that you can use to prepare for your DMV exam. Both tests feature unlimited sample questions so you can take them as many times as you need to memorize the rules of the road.
Teenagers and those who don't mind spending a few dollars on their education may sign up for one of the Oklahoma drivers education classes. Drivers ed is mandatory for those who are applying for a learners permit before they are 16 years of age, everyone else may take the class at will. We advise you to look closer into this option because drivers ed classes do a great job of preparing you for the learner's permit test and generally make you a safer and more responsible driver. The downside is, of course, the price of the class, but if you are a teenager, you can save a few dollars by signing up for one of the Oklahoma parent taught drivers education programs, they usually come much cheaper than the analogous classes offered by high schools and commercial driving schools.
Taking the Oklahoma Permit Test
The minimum age for being issued an Oklahoma learners permit is 15 years, 6 months, so this is the minimum age for taking a drivers permit test. Please note that if you want to apply for a permit at this age, you must be enrolled or have completed a state approved drivers education program. Without taking drivers ed, you will not be able to take your permit test until you are at least 16 years of age.
You can take the Oklahoma DPS permit test at any drivers testing facility. No appointment is necessary, but you may want to call the DPS before you go in for the test to check the best hours to come and to make sure that the branch that you will visit provides this type of service. When you visit the drivers testing facility, please be prepared to do the following:
- provide proof of ID
- provide proof of name
- provide proof of birth date
- provide your Social Security Number
- fill in the application for a drivers license
- take a vision exam
- take the permit test
If you are under the age of 18, you will also need to provide proof that you have completed or are currently enrolled in a state-approved drivers education class. School attendance is important, so the DPS will ask you to present proof that you are currently attending or have graduated from high school or have a GED. Your parents or legal guardians must be present at the time of the application to grant you their consent to you obtaining a drivers license.
If you don't pass the test on the first attempt, you will be able to retake it the next day. This time, you will have to pay the retesting fee of $4.
Once you pass the Oklahoma permit test, your examiner will give you a receipt that you must take to a tag agent. The tag agent will take your picture, collect the permit application fee and issue you with your learners permit.
While driving with your permit, please remember that it is subject to multiple learners permit restrictions and you have to observe them until you receive your Oklahoma drivers license.
The correct answer to the sample practice question provided above is c - 20 feet.