Colorado Drivers License and Colorado Learners Permit Guide
Get started with Colorado Learner Permit
Are you a teenager seeking to apply for your first Colorado learner permit? Or a more experienced driver who wants to change his out-of-state drivers license to Colorado driver license? Either way, read on to find out how you can achieve your Colorado driver license in no time at all, with minimum amount of money spent.
Colorado Learner Permit
The minimum Colorado learners permit age is 15. If you are 15 years of age and would like to apply for a Colorado learner permit, you will be required to complete a Colorado Drivers Ed course. However, you do not have to wait until you are 15 to take the course, Colorado laws permit you to take a driver’s education course even when you are 14 and ½.
Note that if you are over 18 years of age, you are not required to complete any driver education or driver training programs before you apply for your learner permit.
Applying for Colorado Learner Permit
Every Colorado learner permit applicant is required to complete a written test at the DMV on the day of the permit application. You may wish to take a free online permit test before you go in for the real one. Our online DMV practice tests will allow you to evaluate your current level of knowledge and prepare for the real thing at the DMV.
You must meet the following requirements to take the Colorado permit test:
- submit 2 forms for proof of identification (please see the list of documents accepted)
- supply your Social Security Number (SSN)
- take a vision exam
- pay required fee
The items below apply only to Colorado learner permit applicants who are under 18 years of age:
- present Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR 2460), signed by the parent or legal guardian. The affidavit of liability and guardianship must be notarized before its submission to the DMV
- certificate of completion for a Colorado state-approved driver education course
CO Written Permit Test
If you have met the requirements outlined above, you will be required to take the written permit test. The test has 20 questions on road signs and traffic regulations. Make sure you are prepared with our free Colorado DMV practice tests!
Colorado Learner Permit Restrictions
One you pass the test, you are issued with the instructional learner permit. The permit holders are allowed to drive a vehicle under the supervision of a licensed driver who signed the affidavit of liability and guardianship, DR2460. If the permit holder is older than 18, he or she is permitted to drive under the supervision of any licensed driver 21 years old or older.
Please note: the instructional permit may hold other restrictions. Please refer to the DMV driver manual for the full list of restrictions that may apply to your situation.
Holding Period - Supervised Driving - Behind The Wheel Experience
If you are over 18 years of age, there is no minimum permit holding period or compulsory driver training for you. You may apply for your Colorado driver license test the next day after you receive your Colorado instructional permit. However, you are strongly advised to take a few driving lessons before you visit the DMV for your driver license test.
If you are less then 18 years old, you will be required to hold your CO instruction permit for at least 12 months before you can apply for your driver license test. During these 12 months, you will need to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving with your parents, with 10 hours being done at nighttime. You must use the official Colorado Driver Time Log Sheet to log these hours.
If you received your CO learner permit when you were 15 to 15 and ½ years old, you will also need to complete at least 6 hours of behind the wheel training with a professional instructor. You can contact your local driving school and arrange behind the wheel lessons with them.
Colorado Driver License - CO Driving Test
When you fulfill all of the above requirements, you can visit the DMV for your Colorado driving test and apply for your driver license.
To be eligible for Colorado driver license:
- minimum driver license age is 16
- you must have held your Colorado permit for at least 12 months (under 18 applicants only)
- present the affidavit of liability and guardianship DR 2460 and CO Driver Time Log Sheet
- pass the driving test
Once you pass the driving test, you will be issued with Colorado Drivers License.