Eng Esp

Alabama Drivers License

Alabama Drivers License

Before you rush into the Alabama drivers license office after your first license, you need to make up your mind about the type of the driver license that you need. Different types of licenses will allow you to operate different types of vehicles on Alabama roads.

Alabama Drivers License Types

Here are the most common types of the drivers licenses that are offered in Alabama:

  • Class D Learners license. Is may also be referred to as the learners permit.
  • Class D Drivers license. This is the most common type of a license and it suffices for most drivers out there.
  • Class M license. A motorcycle license for those who plan on riding a bike.
  • CDLs. Class, B and C. Commercial drivers licenses that allow operation of the commercial vehicles.

Teen License

If you are a teenager, then you fall under the Alabama graduated drivers license (GDL) laws. The GDL program was designed to ensure that teens get enough driving experience before they start driving on their own and it implies advanced education courses before the license is issued.

If you are under 18 years of age, you will be required to complete either s state-approved drivers education class or at least 30 hours of behind the wheel practice.

Written Examination

Every drivers license and learners permit applicant is required to take the Alabama permit test at the DPS to prove that they are familiar with Alabama road regulation and traffic laws. If you already took a drivers education class, it should have prepared you for the test.

Those who want to prepare on their own can read Alabama drivers manual and take some AL practice permit tests to test their knowledge before they go for the real thing.

Once you pass the written exam and if you are over 18, you can take the driving test the same day. If you are younger than 18, you will be issued with your learners permit and you will need to hold on to it for at least 6 months before you can apply for the Class D drivers license.

Please note that you can only be issued with a temporary drivers license or learners permit. The real drivers license will be mailed to you within 30 days.