Missouri Learners Permit
Missouri learners permit, which is also called a drivers permit, is the first document that you get that enables you to get behind the wheel and start your driving practice. Although the Missouri drivers permit is not a full license yet, it is still a big step in the licensing procedure.
The drivers permit that is issued to you by the Department of Revenue is part of the Missouri graduated license system. The GDL laws target teen license applicants and require them to go through a series of intermediate stages before they can achieve the unrestricted license. Although the GDL laws do not require you to complete a Missouri drivers education program like in most other states, it may still be a good idea to do so for the sake of safety.
Missouri Drivers Permit Test
The minimum permit age in Missouri is 15 and if you are applying for the learner's permit, you have to take a Missouri permit test. The written test covers the driving rules and road signs and you will not receive your license unless you are able to demonstrate that you are no stranger to these topics.
If you have not taken the drivers ed program yet but still want to prepare for your exam, head over to the DOR and get a copy of the Missouri drivers handbook. The handbook is a complete guide to driving in the state of Missouri and it should be more than enough for you to prepare for the exam. You can also take a few Missouri practice tests to see how well you are prepared.
Missouri Permit Restrictions
Got your Missouri permit and want to get behind the wheel? Hold your horses at this point. The drivers permit does not grant you unrestricted driving privileges and it has certain permit restrictions. You cannot operate a vehicle unless supervised by another licensed driver who's at least 21 years old. Teenage drivers also have a curfew and passenger restrictions applied to their permits.
Upgrading to Drivers License
If you are over 18 years of age, you can apply for the Missouri drivers license as soon as you gained some driving skills and are confident enough behind the wheel to pass your driving exam. Teenagers will need to hold the learners permit for at least 6 months before they can schedule the driving test and they are issued with the Intermediate license at first.