Eng Esp

Wyoming Learners Permit

Wyoming Learners Permit

If you are under 17 years of age and you would like to get a drivers license in Wyoming, you will have to apply for the learners permit first. Wyoming has two permit stages - the instruction learners permit and the intermediate learners permit and you will have to go through both of them before you receive your license.

Graduated Drivers License

Some forms of the graduated license system exist in almost every state. The GDL law targets the age group with the highest crash rates - drivers under the age of 18. The GDL system in Wyoming breaks down the licensing procedure into a number of steps, each step designed to teach the drivers a number of skills. The permit stages - instruction drivers permit and intermediate learners permit - allow teenage drivers to gain some driving experience while being supervised by a more seasoned driver, the approach that dramatically reduces the number of accidents among teen drivers. The system also encourages completion of one of the Wyoming drivers education courses by allowing the drivers ed graduates to receive the drivers license sooner.

Instruction Learner's Permit

Please note that all this information applies only to license applicants who are under 17 years of age. Anyone who is over 17 can go ahead and apply for the drivers license without obtaining a permit first.

The minimum age at which you can apply for the instruction learners permit is 15. Once you are of the legal permit age, you can visit one of the Wyoming DOT offices and apply for your permit. Be prepared to do the following when you visit the office:

  • present proof of ID
  • present proof of birth date
  • complete the learners permit application
  • pay the drivers permit fee
  • take a vision exam
  • take the Wyoming permit test

When you fulfill the above requirements, you will be issued with the Wyoming instruction learners permit.

If you would like to prepare for the DOT permit test, you can download a free copy of the drivers manual from the DOT website. The handbook covers the driving laws and roads signs and contains more than enough information for you to pass the exam. If you want some extra study materials, you can take some practice permit questions as well.

Instruction Learners Permit Restrictions

When you get your permit, you are ready to start your driving practice. You have to remember that the permit is not equal to the full license and it comes with a number of permit restrictions. The main limitation of the Wyoming drivers permit is that it allows supervised driving only and you must have another licensed drivers 18 years old or older seated next to you at all times while driving. Passenger restrictions also apply.

Intermediate Drivers Permit

The intermediate learner's permit is your next step towards the Wyoming drivers license. In order to be eligible for the intermediate permit, you must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Be 16 years old
  • Have your instruction learners permit for at least 10 days
  • Complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving

The application procedure for the intermediate permit is very similar to that for the instruction permit. You need to visit the drivers license office and do the following:

  • present your instruction learners permit
  • present proof of ID
  • present proof of birth date
  • present the supervised driving log form (must be signed by the supervising driver)
  • complete the minor release form
  • take a vision exam
  • take a Wyoming driving test

Once you pass the drivers license exam, you are issued with the Wyoming intermediate drivers permit.

Intermediate Drivers Permit Restrictions

Although the intermediate permit allows unsupervised driving, it still comes with a number of restrictions that will be lifted once you reach the age of 17 and upgrade to a full Wyoming drivers license.