Georgia Learners Permit Restrictions - GA Driving Permit Rules
Finally got your learners permit and ready to go for a drive? Congratulations, this is a big step towards your full license, however you have to remember that there are certain Georgia learners permit restrictions that must be observed at all times. Permit restrictions are there to prevent new drivers from getting into trouble and they are supposed to discourage you from taking actions that are considered to be dangerous.
Permit restrictions in Georgia are not age depended and if you currently hold a Georgia learners permit, you have to abide to the same rules no matter how old you are.
Who Needs These Restrictions
Everyone. The restrictions and limitations that are placed on learners permit and restricted license holders are there not only to protect them, but to protect those around them as well. Driving is an activity that involves interaction with other drivers on the road and if you make a mistake, you can endanger lives of those drivers around you. The DDS places driving permit restrictions on all permit holders to improve the overall traffic safety.
Age Dependent Permit Rules
Also there are not age dependent restrictions that are placed into the learners permit holders, drivers who are younger than 18 have to go through a different licensing process that is dictated by the Georgia graduated license laws. While those license applicants who are over 18 years of age can apply for a drivers license right away, omitting the permit stage altogether, teenage license applicants have to go through the learners permit phase and the restricted class d drivers license phase before they can be issued with a full privilege drivers license. Most of the restrictions are placed onto the intermediate class D drivers license. If you want to learn more about the graduated license law, please refer to the Georgia drivers handbook.
Permit Restrictions - Over 18
As mentioned above, you can omit the permit stage and go right for your drivers license. However, if you wish to obtain some driving experience before taking the driving exam, you may apply for a learners permit first. While driving with your learners permit, you have to observe one condition only (in addition to the traffic laws, of course):
Supervised driving only. You cannot drive alone and must have another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you at all times.
Please note: even though you can skip the permit stage, it does not mean you don't have to take all corresponding tests. The state requires you to take a mandatory learners permit test and a vision exam, plus the driving test for your license. If you think you are ready for the permit exam, take a few Georgia practice permit tests to see if you are truly prepared.
Permit Restrictions - Under 18
Permit restrictions for those who are under 18 years of age are exactly the same as for those who are over 18 years of age - supervised driving only. During the learners permit stage, you must also fulfill the Joshua's law requirements, such as taking the ADAP course, one of the Georgia drivers education classes and nailing the required behind the wheel hours. You have to hold a permit for at least 1 year and 1 day before you can take a driving test and get your class D drivers license.
Class D Drivers License Restrictions
Although your class D Georgia drivers license allows you to drive unsupervised most of the time, it still comes with some limitation. You have to observe the following rules:
- Curfew. No driving between midnight and 6 a.m.
- For the first 6 months following the issuance of the license only immediate family members are allowed as passengers.
- During the second 6 months following the issuance of the license only one passenger who is under 21 years of age who is not a member of the driver's immediate family.
- No traffic convictions for 12 months preceding the application for a drivers license.
These restrictions will be removed once you reach the age of 18 and upgrade to the regular class C drivers license.