Missouri Learners Permit Restrictions - MO Driving Permit Rules
If you are under the age of 18 and are applying for a drivers license in Missouri, you are not granted full driving privileges right away. Instead, you are first issued with a Missouri learners permit that comes with numerous restrictions. Missouri permit restrictions were designed by the Department of Revenue to ensure the safety of newly licensed drivers and those who surround them on public roads. In addition to the Missouri learners permit restrictions, you will also have to meet the requirements of the state graduated drivers license law and go through all graduate license stages before you are granted a full license. Each one of those stages will have its own restrictions and requirements.
Why Do We Need Missouri Learners Permit Restrictions
There is a simple reason why new teenage drivers are not granted full driving privileges right away. A new driver usually has insufficient if any driving experience, which makes him a potential hazard on the road.
In order to allow drivers to obtain this essential driving experience and avoid subjecting them to this dangerous and stressful environment, the licensing procedure is divided into a number of steps. As the first step, the applicant is issued with a Missouri learners permit that allows supervised driving only. During this stage, the licensee is allowed to drive only while being supervised by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age. The supervising driver helps the licensee with advice and should be prepared to take control of the vehicle at any point. Once the driver gains enough driving experience, the drivers test can be taken and a full Missouri drivers license is issued.
Teenage drivers usually require much more attention and teaching than drivers of all other age groups and the licensing procedure for teens is governed by the Missouri graduated license laws. Teenage drivers license applicants are usually subjected to extended permit and restricted license holding periods and they have to face additional permit restrictions that are not applicable to older drivers.
Missouri Permit Restrictions - Over Age 18
IF you are over 18 years of age and you got a Missouri learners permit, there is only one restriction for you to observe until you take a drivers test and get a full drivers license. Whenever you get behind the wheel to start practicing your driving, you must have a supervising driver seated in the front seat next to you. The supervising driver must hold a valid Missouri driver license.
Please remember that it is up to you whether to apply for a drivers permit. If you are 18 years old or older, you can omit the learners permit stage and go straight for your drivers license. Although it is a possible route, we advise you against it. Applying for a learners permit first will allow you to gain some driving experience before you take your drivers test, which significantly increases your chances to pass the exam the first time you take it and also make your future on the road much safer.
Although you can skip the learners permit stage, you cannot skip the required testing. Drivers of all ages have to submit to vision, knowledge and driving skills testing before they can be issued with a drivers license. You will be required to take a Missouri permit test that will assess your knowledge of the state driving rules. You may want to check out some Missouri practice permit tests before you take the real exam.
Missouri Permit Restrictions - Under Age 18
If you choose to apply for a drivers license before you turn 18, you will be subject to the state graduated driver license law and your will have to meet additional permit and license requirements before you are issued with a full license. You have to observe the following Missouri learners permit restrictions:
- under 16 years of age - driving allowed only when a licensed parent, legal guardian or professional driving instructor is seated in the front seat next to the permit holder.
- 16 - 17 years of age - driving allowed when a licensed drivers 21 years of age or older is seated in the front seat next to the permit holder
- Seat belts. Safety belts must be worn by everyone in the vehicle whenever the vehicle is moving
You will need to hold your learners permit and observe these permit restrictions for at least 182 days before you can take a drivers test. During this period, you cannot have any traffic violations. If you are convicted of a traffic offense, the waiting period is restarted. Although the state does not require you to take a Missouri drivers ed class, you must complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving with your parents. 10 of these hours must be completed at night time. You can refer to the Missouri drivers handbook if you require more information on the graduated license requirements.
Missouri Intermediate License Restrictions
Those who are under 18 years of age cannot be issued with a full drivers license, they are granted an intermediate Missouri driver license that allows you to drive without a supervising driver in the vehicle, but still comes with the following intermediate license restrictions:
- For the first 6 months, no more than one passenger under the age of 19 is allowed to be present in the vehicle. Exceptions are made for the immediate family members.
- After the first 6 months, no more than 3 passengers are allowed to be present in the vehicle.
- Curfew. No driving alone between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. except to and from a school or employment related activity or in emergency situations.
- Seat belts. Safety belts must be worn by everyone in the vehicle.
These restrictions will be removed when you reach the age of 18 and receive your full Missouri driver license.