Vermont Learners Permit
Although license applicant can skip the Vermont learners permit stage, there is no real reason to do that. The Vermont drivers permit will give you a great chance to polish your driving skills before you go in for the road test.
Obtaining a learners permit is a key step of the graduated drivers license system in Vermont. The GDL laws poses a number of limitations onto teenage drivers, the limitations that are intended to make the roads safer. The learners permit allows teenage drivers to gain some driving experience in a low-risk environment, while being supervised by another licensed driver. In addition to permit restrictions, the GDL system requires every teenage license applicant to go through one of the Vermont drivers education programs.
Applying for Learner's Permit
The minimum age at which you can apply for the Vermont learner permit is 15. This is the minimum permit age, however, you can start studying for the permit before that time. When you will be applying for the permit, you will have to take a knowledge exam, the exam that will cover Vermont driving rules and road signs. Most people fail the exam even before they go in to the DMV because they fail to prepare for the exam.
If you don't want to be among those people, grab yourself a Vermont drivers handbook. The handbook is distributed by the DMV free of charge, you can either download it or get a copy at your local DMV office. The book has everything you need to know about driving in Vermont and you should really spend your time going over the materials. If you want to see how well you are progressing, you can keep taking practice tests from time to time.
When you visit the DMV for the learner's permit exam, be prepared to do the following:
- provide proof of residency
- provide proof of identity
- provide your social security card
- pay the application fee. At the moment, the fee is $45
- take a vision test
- take the permit exam
After successfully passing the exam, you will be granted with the learners permit on the spot.
Learners Permit Restrictions
Although you may be excited about the fact that now you can legally get behind the wheel and go for your first cruise, you must remember that learners permit is not a full license and it comes with certain restrictions. The main limitation is that Vermont learners permit holders are not allowed to drive unless they are being supervised by another licensed driver who is 25 years old or older. Failure to abide to these restrictions will see your permit canceled.
Upgrading to Drivers License
There is no permit holding period for license applicants who are over 18 years of age and they can take the road test the same day they take the written exam, provided there is an opening at the testing location.
Applicants under the age of 18 must hold the learner's permit for at least 12 months before taking the road skills test. During this period, you must complete a drivers education program and fulfill other GDL requirements.
Once you successfully pass the road test, you are granted your Vermont driver's license.