Maryland Learners Permit
The Maryland learners permit is a key part of the licensing procedure. Once you receive your Maryland drivers permit, you will be able to get behind the wheel and start practicing your driving moves.
Maryland has its own version of the graduated license system which is also known as the Rookie Driver Program. The GDL laws enforce certain restrictions onto the teenage permit applicants and introduce obligatory drivers education classes for everyone. These measures, along with the supervised driving period and various learners permit restrictions, contribute to the increased safety on Maryland roads by allowing applicants to gain some driving experience before they hit the roads.
Maryland Permit Test
The minimum age for obtaining a Maryland drivers permit is 15 years and 9 months and every applicant is obliged by the MVA to take a learner's permit test. The exam tests your knowledge of the driving laws and there is no easy way to pass it unless you study beforehand.
If you are looking for some study materials, you should probably make your first stop at the MVA drivers handbook. The book has everything you need to know to nail your drivers permit test.
Taking a few Maryland practice tests is also a good way to get familiar with the wording used on the real exam.
There are two types of the Maryland permits offered at the moment.
Type One Learners Permit
This is the learners permit you commonly hear about, the one issued to the first time drivers license applicants. It must be held for at least 6 months before you can apply for the drivers license and it is valid for 1 year.
Type Two Drivers Permit
You do not hear about this one too often because this permit is issued to applicants who already hold a Maryland drivers license and want to add another license class or endorsement to it. The minimum holding period for this permit is 14 days.
Drivers Permit Restrictions
Although the learners permit grants you the right to operate a motor vehicle, it comes with the strings. The learners permit restrictions, such as supervised driving only, must be observed at all times. If you fail to abide to these rules, your driving privilege will be revoked.