Mississippi Learners Permit
Mississippi learner’s permit is your first achievement on the way towards your unrestricted license. Once you obtain your Mississippi learners permit, you can get behind the wheel and start preparing for the license test.
Although the Mississippi graduated drivers license laws are not as strict as in many other states, it still implies certain restrictions for teenage drivers license applicants. Apart from obtaining a learner’s permit and having to hold it for at least 6 months before upgrading to the next license class, applicants who are under 18 years of age have to go through the intermediate drivers license stage.
Mississippi Permit Test
The minimum Mississippi drivers permit age is 14 and 1/2, however you will need to complete a Mississippi drivers education course in order to be eligible. If you do not want to take a driver’s ed class, you can wait until you are 15 before taking your learner’s permit test.
If you are looking for some study materials to prepare for the exam, head over the to DPS and pick up your copy of the Mississippi drivers handbook. The manual is a compilation of driving-related materials, including, but not limited to, the Mississippi driving rules.
Once you got the book covered, take a Mississippi practice test to see how well you learned the rules.
Upon completion of the test, you will be issued with the Mississippi learner’s permit, which is also termed as the Class LP drivers license.
Mississippi Permit Restrictions
Although you may be excited about finally getting that instructional permit, you should remember that this is not an unrestricted driver’s license yet and that you have to observe all learner’s permit restrictions. You cannot operate a vehicle unless another licensed driver who’s at least 21 years old is seated next to you while you’re driving.
Permit to License
When you’re ready to upgrade to a Mississippi drivers license, you will be required to take the driving exam at one of the DPS testing centers. Please note that if you are under 17 years of age, you must hold your learner’s permit for at least 6 months before you can take the road test. Those who are over 17 can take the driving exam the next day after passing the permit test.
Student’s who are under 18 cannot go directly from the learner’s permit to a full unrestricted license, they will be issued with an intermediate license first. The intermediate license allows unsupervised driving during the day, but retains the curfew and some of the restrictions for learner’s permit.