Montana Learners Permit
Montana learner’s permit is what is issued to you once you pass the permit test and it is the first step in the licensing procedure. Once you are issued with the Montana drivers permit, you can get behind the wheel and start your driving lessons.
The graduated license laws comprise a set of measures that were designed for the safety of teen drivers. In order to prepare teenager for their future on Montana roads, the Motor Vehicle Division requires every permit applicant who is under 16 years of age to complete a Montana driver’s ed program. The drivers permit is also an important part of the GDL system as it allows teenagers to practice driving before they start driving on their own.
Montana Learners Permit Test
You must be at least 14 1/2 years old in order to be able to apply for the learners permit and take your permit test. If you are under 16, you will be required to take a state-approved traffic education program. If you meet these requirements, you can visit the drivers exam office and take the knowledge exam.
Some think that taking the learner’s permit test is easy… and they are correct, provided you prepare for it. If you took a traffic education class, then you should already know the rules of the road and be able to pass the exam. If you have not taken any classes, you may want to obtain the Montana drivers manual, which is distributed by the MVD free of charge. If you are the kind of person that likes quizzes, you may take a few Montana practice tests to ensure that you are fully prepared.
Once you pass the exam, the MVD will issue you with your Montana drivers permit.
Montana Permit Restrictions
The driving permit that you received is not equal to drivers license and comes with certain restrictions. The main difference between a permit and a license is that the permit does not allow you to operate a motor vehicle unless you are supervised by another licensed driver.
Upgrading To Drivers License
Although the learners permit in Montana is valid for 12 months, you only need to hold it for 6 months before applying for your road test and receiving your Montana drivers license. You should note that if you are under 18 years of age, you must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving.