Georgia Learners Permit
If you are under 18 years of age and you would like to obtain a drivers license in Georgia, you will need to apply for the Georgia learners permit first. You need to be at least 15 years old in order to be eligible for a learners permit.
When you apply for the Georgia learners permit, you will be required to take a Georgia permit test that will test your knowledge or driving rules and traffic regulations. You may want to prepare for the test by taking some practice permit tests and going through Georgia drivers manual that is offered free of charge by Georgia DDS.
When you feel that you are prepared, you can visit the DDS and take your written permit test. No appointment is required for the permit test, they are provided on the walk in basis. Please note that you have to provide the following when you are applying for your learners permit:
- Proof of the social security number
- Proof of birth
- Certificate of school attendance
- Pay the permit fee (currently $10)
In addition to taking the written exam, you will also have to take a vision test. If you pass both tests, you are issued with Georgia learners permit.
The learners permit must be held for at least 12 months before you can apply for the drivers license. If you are just 16, you can only apply for the class D drivers license at this point and you need to complete a Georgia drivers education class before you can take your road test.
All these permit restrictions are part of the Georgia Joshua’s law that can also be called a graduated drivers license program. Joshua’s law aims that reducing the number of teen-related road accidents by enforcing multiple restrictions onto the teenage drivers.