Mississippi Attempts To Ban Teenage Drivers From Texting
Many states recognize the danger of using communication devices while operating a motor vehicle. The danger increases drastically if the driver behind the wheel is a teenager who has neither experience nor the required skills to anticipate and recognize the potentially dangerous on-road situations.
Under the new bill that can be passed on in Mississippi, a new drivers that is convicted of texting while driving a vehicle will face a fine of $500. If the teen causes an accident while texting, the fine goes up to $1000.
The bill may also raise the minimum legal driving age by 6 months. The minimum driving age is a big controversy in most states. At one hand, teens need the ability to move around, be able to go to school and other activities. In rural areas, this is virtually impossible unless you can drive a car or one of your friends is able to give you a ride. One the other side, there is lack of driving experience and inability to treat driving with due respect.