Louisiana Learners Permit Restrictions - LA Driving Permit Rules
If you received a learners permit in Louisiana, you should be aware that the permit does not grant you unlimited driving privileges and comes with a number of learners permit restrictions. These restrictions were designed to safeguard you against the dangers of the road. Since you don't have much driving experience yet, you are highly likely to be involved in a traffic accident and the Louisiana drivers permit restrictions are there to ensure that you get through this period as safely as possible. Teenage drivers are also subjected to the graduated drivers license restrictions until they are at least 17 years of age.
Permit Restrictions - Over 18 years of Age
If you apply for a Louisiana learners permit and you are 18 years of age or older, there are not that many permit restrictions you will need to observe. The main condition of driving with a learners permit is to have another licensed driver accompany you. The supervising driver must be seated in the front seat next to you and hold a valid Louisiana drivers license.
The goal behind this restriction is to allow you to practice driving before you take a Louisiana drivers test. Having another licensed driver in the car should strike some confidence into you, plus the supervising driver should steer you clear of any potential danger. Try to get as much driving experience as possible at this stage, it will make passing the driver's test much easier.
Please note that before you can receive your learners permit, the Department of Public Safety requires you to complete a state-approved Louisiana drivers education class or a short pre-licensing course. You will not be able to submit your application for a learners permit before you can present a certificate of completion for one of these courses.
Drivers Permit Restrictions - Under The Age of 18
If you are under the age of 18, you are subject to the Louisiana graduated drivers license law, which means that there are additional requirements for you to meet before you can get a drivers permit. Prior to taking a Louisiana learners permit tes0t, you are required to complete a drivers education class that satisfies the state requirements. You will be required to present a certificate of completion for a drivers education class on the day of your application.
More than a half of all first time applicants fail the learners permit test the first time they take it. If you want to be among those who pass the exam on their first try, you should invest time into preparing for it. When you think you are well prepared, take a Louisiana practice permit test, it is completely free and allows you to get accustomed to the wording used on the real permit test.
Once you pass the test and receive your drivers permit, you can start driving, provided you observe all Louisiana permit rules and requirements. The main requirements is that you are not to drive alone, you must have a supervising driver accompany you at all times. The supervising driver must be your sibling 18 years of age or older or any other licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
This drivers permit restriction must be observed for at least six months before you can take a drivers test. During this period, you must complete at least 35 hours of supervised driving practice.
Louisiana Restricted Drivers License
If you are under 17 years of age, you will not be issued with a full drivers license once you pass your driving skills test. Instead, you are granted a restricted drivers license. The restricted drivers license allows unsupervised driving between 5 a.m. and 11 p.m., but if you want to drive during the curfew hours, you must bring a supervising driver with you, just like any learners permit holder. The official Louisiana drivers manual has more information about the graduated license system and the restrictions imposed onto young drivers.
Why The Restrictions
Many drivers who just got a learners permit or a restricted license complain that these restrictions are not fair and they are just a nuisance. We have a number of responses to this.
First of all, the Louisiana learners permit and restricted license requirements and restrictions are rather mild. Many other states have harsher rules that limit the number of passengers in the vehicle operated by a permit holder, set curfews for both permit and restricted license holders, limit the usage of cell phones and set additional speed limits. Compared to these rules, the Louisiana drivers permit restrictions don't seem to be that bad.
To this, we can add that learners permit restrictions save lives. Lack of driving experience is the number one risk factor for those who just got a drivers license. Failure to observe these restrictions may result in you being involved in a traffic accident, injuring yourself and others, so make sure to observe them at all times.