A recent change in the legislative acts will affect the new Texas drivers license applicants and those who already hold a learners permit or a license. The changes aim at reducing the number of injuries caused by automotive accidents on Texas roads by targeting some of the common bad driving habits and shortcomings. While these changes will affect a large number of different traffic regulations, the following areas will be among the ones affected the most:
- Child passengers
- Operation of communication devices while driving
- “Out of State” license holders
- Application for Drivers license and learners permit
According to the new seatbelt restrictions, all passengers and the driver, no matter what age, will be required to wear a seatbelt while driving on Texas roads. This will also encompass the passengers vans that are designed no carry 15 or less passengers.
Children under 8 years of age must be restrained in an approved child safety seat. The fine for the first offence is $25, while a repeated offence will cost you $250.
Even though it is generally legal to use wireless communication devices on public roads in Texas, it may be illegal to do so in the school zones. Cities that will want to make use of this new restrictions will be required to post the corresponding signs at the beginning of each school zone.
Non-resident Drivers License Holders
New Texas residents who just came to the state can drive on their out-of-state driving license for up to 90 days. They are required to surrender their out-of-state license and apply for the Texas drivers license within this period.
Drivers License and Learners Permit Application
Until now, underage Texas learners permit holders who went through the drivers education program could avoid taking the driving skills test. The practice will be eliminated, with all teenagers required to take the driving test before they can be issued with a drivers license.
A short drivers education program will be implemented for drivers license applicants who are between 18 and 25 years old.