Eng Esp

Tennessee Drivers License Restrictions

Tennessee Drivers License Restrictions

If you have a health condition that may prevent you from operating a regular vehicle or you simply cannot operate a certain type of vehicles (for example, a vehicle equipped with manual transmission), the Department of Safety may place a restriction onto your Tennessee drivers license to reflect these shortcomings. A drivers license restriction usually limits your driving privileges to operating a vehicle only when certain conditions are met. Teenage drivers must also be aware of Tennessee intermediate license restrictions that are part of the state's graduated drivers license program. If you have questions about a specific Tennessee driver's license restriction code, you should get in touch the DOS and they will help you with your inquiry.

Driving License Restriction Codes

The following is the list of restriction codes that may apply to a commercial driver's license, these restrictions do not apply to a regular drivers license in Tennessee:

  • L - Vehicle without Air Brakes - Driver not permitted to drive with Air Brakes
  • 51 - Intrastate driving - Used for CDLs issued to a driver under 21 years of age
  • 52 - Government vehicles only - for drivers that drive government vehicle only.
  • 53 - Intracity zone only - for drivers who do not meet DOT physical standards but are allowed by FMCSA to drive their CMV in a very limited area
  • 54 - Intrastate only, medical limitation - For drivers who are required to meet DOT physical standards but fail those standards due to less than 20/40 vision in one eye only or insulin controlled diabetes. Can drive only within State of TN and only in intrastate commerce. P & S & H endorsements not allowed.
  • 55 - Except Class A Bus - Issued to drivers with a Class A who are licensed to drive Class B or Class C passenger with capacity of 16 or more including driver
  • 56 - Except Class A and Class B Bus - Issued to Class A or Class B drivers with a passenger endorsement to drive passenger vehicles that have a rated capacity of 16 or more passengers including the driver that weighs 26,000 GVWR or less.
  • 57 - Except Tractor-Trailer - Added to the Class A only, for drivers who operate a vehicle meeting Class A weight definitions, but the power unit alone is also capable of carrying loads. Examples: Dump truck towing a backhoe. Truck towing a mobile home.

Once again, these restrictions can apply only to a commercial drivers license and are listed in the CDL drivers manual. Unfortunately, the regular Tennessee drivers handbook does not contain a list of all drivers license restrictions that can apply to a regular driving license.

Intermediate Restricted Drivers License

Everyone who wishes to obtain a drivers license before reaching the age of 18 years must follow Tennessee's graduate drivers license program. Under the program, the license applicant is required to go through a number of stages before a full license can be issued. Each stage presents the applicant with certain requirements that must be met before graduating to the next level.

A restricted intermediate driver's license is the second stage of the program and it can be issued to those who pass the Tennessee drivers license test before reaching the age of 18. Although licensees with an intermediate license can drive without supervision when certain conditions are met, the following Tennessee intermediate drivers license restrictions must be observed:

  • Passenger restrictions. No more than one passenger under the age of 21 years is allowed to be present in the vehicle, except for when there is a supervising driver present in the front seat or passengers are all members of driver's immediate family, traveling to /from school.
  • Curfew. The nighttime driving restriction prohibits you from driving between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m., unless you are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or another driver at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or guardian. You can also ignore the curfew if you are driving to/from work or school. Driving to hunting or fishing is allowed between 4 a.m. and 6 a.m. if you possess a valid hunting or fishing license.
  • Seat belts. All passengers between 4-17 years of age must wear seat belts.

The intermediate license restrictions must be observed for at least 12 months of until you are 18 years of age, whichever comes first.

Drivers Permit Restrictions

Those still operating under a Tennessee drivers permit need to observe all of the Tennessee driving permit restrictions, which are as following:

  • No driving alone. You must have a parent, legal guardian or any other licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you at all times while you are driving. Under to circumstances you are to drive alone.
  • Curfew. You cannot drive between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.
  • Passengers. All passengers between 4-17 years of age must wear seat belts.

These restrictions come into effect right after you pass the Tennessee driver permit test and last until you receive either an intermediate or a full license. If you still haven't taken your permit test yet, make sure to study with Tennessee drivers practice tests online.

You have to treat both the permit and drivers license restrictions very seriously, because you may lose your driving privileges over breaking these restrictions. Repeat offenders will have to wait until they are at least 18 years of age before applying for a drivers license.