Eng Esp

Vermont Drivers Test

Before you can be issued with a drivers license in Vermont, you will have to meet a number of requirements and prove that you know the state driving rules and possess proper driving skills. Passing a Vermont drivers test is the final and the most important step of the application procedure. During your drivers test practice sessions, you must cover all of the basic driving maneuvers and learn how to apply the state driving rules in real life conditions. Vermont driver test is conducted on the appointment-only basis, so make sure to schedule your road skills exam well in advance.

Drivers Test Requirements

Before you can take a Vermont drivers test, you will need to meet certain requirements. The requirements will depend on your age and weather you currently hold a driver license issued by a different state. We tried to outline the basic requirements for each age group below.

Drivers under 18 years of age

If you are under 18 years of age, you will need to meet all Vermont graduated driver's license requirements before you can take a DMV permit test. What this means is that you will need to start by applying for a learners permit. At the time of the application, you will be require to take a Vermont drivers permit test that will assess your knowledge of the state road signs and driving regulations. A free Vermont practice drivers test can give you a fair idea of what the permit test is like.

Once you have a permit, you can start driving under supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age. You must hold a learners permit for at least 12 months and you must observe all Vermont permit restrictions during this stage. The law also requires you to complete a state-approved Vermont driver's education course and at least 40 hours of supervised driving with your parents. These hours must be logged into a Driving Practice Log Sheet TA-VN-210. If all of the above requirements are met and you are at least 16 years of age, you can call the DMV and schedule a drivers license test.

Drivers 18 years of age and older

If you are at least 18 years of age, but have never been licensed, you will have to start by applying for a Vermont learners permit. In order to do so, visit one of the local testing centers and take a vision exam and a learners permit test. If you pass, you are granted a Vermont learners permit. With this permit, you are allowed to practice driving while accompanied by a licensed driver 25 years of age or older. Please note that even though there is no minimum amount of time that you have to hold your drivers permit for, the DMV requires everyone to receive at least 20 hours of driving instruction prior to taking a Vermont driver's test. When you meet the above requirements, call the road test scheduling service and set up an appointment for the driver test.

If you are at least 18 years of age and you currently hold a valid drivers license issued by another state, you can exchange it for a Vermont drivers license without having to take any additional tests. If your out of state driver's license has been expired for over a year, the DMV will have you take a vision exam, a permit test and a drivers license test. Grab yourself a copy of Vermont drivers manual if you want to prepare for those exam.

Drivers Test Practice

Most of the driver's license applicants are very anxious about the test and want to learn exactly what they need to practice to be able to pass the first time. Unfortunately, there is no answer to this question. Driving is a complex exercise, so Vermont drivers test practice sessions should cover virtually every driving maneuver there is. Here is a list of the most common things you are tested on during the DMV drivers test.

  • Stop signs and traffic signals. You have to observe the signs and follow the traffic signals at all times.
  • Backing. You will be required to maneuver your vehicle while backing.
  • Quick stop. You will need to demonstrate that you are able to control the vehicle during a sudden stop, without skidding your wheels.
  • Parallel parking. This one come up on every drivers test and is probably the most feared maneuver out there. Make sure you practice as much as possible somewhere in a parking lot.
  • Clutch usage. Applies only to those who are taking the test on a vehicle with manual transmission.

Practice makes perfect, this saying is especially true when it comes to driving. It's no wonder the DMV wants you to get as many driving hours as possible before you show up for your Vermont driver test, they know that a person who spent more hours behind the wheel has significantly higher chances of passing the road skills exam.

Scheduling The Driving Test - Things to Bring

In Vermont, drivers tests are conducted only for those who make a prior appointment. You can make an appointment by calling a central scheduling line at (802) 828-2085. The list of driver testing centers that operate in Vermont is provided at the end of the page.

When you arrive for your drivers test, you must present the same paperwork as you did when you applied for a learners permit. Teenagers will also need to furnish a drivers ed certificate of completion and will need to have a parent present on the spot. The parent must authorize teenager to be licensed.

You must provide your own vehicle for the drivers test. You may not use a rental vehicle unless the rental company provides a letter accepting full responsibility if the applicant takes the road test in the rental vehicle. The vehicle must be clean and in good mechanical conditions. Check the following before you go in for the road skills test: headlights, horn, windshield wipers, rear view mirrors, tail lights, tires, steering mechanism, windshield, exhaust system, brakes, fenders and bumpers. If mechanical condition of the vehicle will be found to be unsatisfactory, you will be denied a chance to take the test.

Your Vermont drivers test should not take more than half an hour. Please note that during the test, only you and the examiner can be present in the vehicle, so don't bring your friends or pets to the testing site.

If you fail the drivers license test, you will have to wait at least a week before taking the test again. If you pass, you will be issued with a drivers license on the spot. If you are under 18 yeras of age, you will be issued with a junior drivers license. Please familiarize yourself with Vermont drivers license restrictions as you will need to observe them for at least six months before you can receive full driving privileges.

List of Drivers License Testing Centers

120 Depot St
Monday - Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

100 Main Street
Monday - Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

1193 North Avenue
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday 7:45 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

101 State Place
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday 7:45 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

120 State Street
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday 7:45 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

100 Mineral St Suite 103
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday 7:45 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.