Texas Parent Taught Drivers Education Course 104 - Curb Buster
There are 8 state-approved parent taught drivers education classes currently offered in Texas and course #104, provided by the Curb Buster, is one of them. Curb Buster offers both a CD ROM and a book version of the class. Unfortunately, the online parent taught course is still pending approval at the time, so you will not be able to fulfill your drivers education requirements on the web with this program.
Things to Know Before You Sign Up for a Texas Parent Taught Drivers Education Class
The following rules apply to not only to the drivers education course 104, but to any parent taught drivers ed class in Texas. Prior to starting any of the parent taught classes, the parent that intends to teach the child how to drive must fill in the application form DL-92 (can be downloaded from the web) and submit it to the Department of Public Safety. If the application is approved, the Department issues the parent taught drivers education package that arrives in the mail within 2-3 weeks of the application date.
Many students make the mistake of purchasing and starting one of the parent taught drivers ed classes prior to receiving authorization to do so from the DPS. The problem with this approach is that not all applications get approved and most companies have strict refund policies that does not warrant a full refund if you already started the program. In order to save you some time and money, make sure to wait until you receive your approval letter from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
You must also make sure that the course you are taking right now has been updated according to the latest graduated license law requirements. Starting May 2010, the number of required driving hours for drivers license applicants who are under 18 years of has been increased to 36 and you drivers education class must reflect this change.
Parent Taught Course 104 Contents
The parent taught class offered by the Curb Buster is very similar to other state-approved parent taught classes that are offered as books or CD-ROMs. The CD-ROM version of the course can be purchased for $169 and it will include the materials for both the instructing parent and the student. The materials for parents include a parent information guide, first gear cd and power point cd. Students get a road trip cd, 3 cds with practice permit tests, a full throttle cd, 2 dvds with videos that cover road safety, a Drive Right textbook, a list of assessments for driving lessons and a dvd entitled “On The Road”. The book version of the course will not have any of the cds and it is retailed at $109.
It does not look as if the package offered by Curb Buster features anything special and there are definitely cheaper alternatives for parent taught drivers education out there. You should also note that all packages are mailed out once a week, so you might have to wait for quite a while before you receive your course materials in the mail.
Other Parent Taught Drivers Ed Courses
The Department of Public Safety in Texas only approves the following Drivers Ed courses:
- course #101 - basic driver education course offered by the DPS
- course #102 - offered by National Driver Training Institute. CD-ROM or book driver education courses available
- course #103 - offered by Driver Ed in a Box. CD-ROM or book driver education courses available
- course #104 - offered by Curb Buster. CD-ROM or book driver education courses available
- course #105 - offered by Driver Ed at Home. Only book driver education course is available
- course #106 - offered by Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association. Only book driver education course is available
- course #107 - offered by Virtual Drive of Texas. Computer based CD-ROM driver education course is available
- course #108 - offered by DriversEd.com. Online driver education course is available
- course #109 - offered by I DRIVE SAFELY. Online driver education course is available