The seat belt law in most states is quite easy - just have everyone buckled in to be on the safe side and you will never be ticketed for not wearing a seat belt yourself or for not having one of the passengers wear it. The matter gets a little more complicated when children are involved. Today, we are looking at one of the Michigan permit test questions that cover the state seat belt law, also known as “Click It or Ticket”. Our Michigan practice permit test includes other questions on seat belts and safety systems for children, so make sure to check it out!
Practice Permit Test Question
“All children under the age of __ have to be in an approved child safety seat or booster seat, unless 4 feet 9 inches or taller”
Remember, there is only one correct answer to the question. The question comes straight from the Michigan drivers handbook, if you are anything like us an like research, grab yourself a copy of the book and have a thorough read through.
Permit Test Answers
Answer A to the Michigan practice permit test question states that the correct answer is 4. While this may seem as the right answer, it's actually a trick answer for those who did not read the handbook attentively. The drivers manual states that there are EXTRA requirements for children under the age of four, however even older children need to be in an approved child safety system while riding in a car.
Answer B to the Michigan permit test question states that everyone older than 6 may ride in the car without a child safety system. There is no such information in the drivers handbook, the answer is incorrect.
Answer C to Michigan permit practice test quiz suggests that the minimum legal age for riding in a car without a child safety system is 8 years. This is confirmed by the Michigan seat belt law, so we seem to be on the right track. Keep in mind, though that if the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches, the age does not matter and the child can use a regular seat belt.
Answer D to the sample question suggests that the minimum age for using a regular seat belt is 10 years. We already figured out that this is not correct, however if your child is still shorter than 4 feet and 9 inches, you may want to continue using a booster seat. This will ensure that the seat belt will work properly.
Correct Answer To The Practice Permit Test
We already figured out that the correct answer to this sample question is C:
“All children under the age of 8 have to be in an approved child safety seat or booster seat, unless 4 feet 9 inches or taller”
Keep in mind that there are additional restrictions when it comes to younger children. For example, if you are transporting children under the age of 4, they must occupy the rear seat of the vehicle AND be seated in a child safety system. You must also deactivate the passenger air bag if you are planning on using a front seat child safety system.
Want to receive a practice permit test question to your twitter every day until you pass your permit test? Follow us on twitter and get unlimited sample test questions!