Massachusetts Learners Permit Application
Trying to obtain a license in Massachusetts and never been licensed before? In this case, you will have to start by applying for a Massachusetts drivers permit. The application procedure is very similar for applicants of all ages, however teenagers must also meet graduated license requirements. Every Massachusetts drivers permit applicant is require to take a vision exam and a learners permit test before a permit can be issued. You do not have to schedule your appointment for taking the test, just come in and file your application for Massachusetts instruction permit any time during the regular business hours.
Graduated Drivers License Requirements
You should be aware of the fact that driving is a very dangerous activity. Driving is so deeply integrated into our lives that we frequently fail to appreciate the danger and responsibility that comes with operating a vehicle. Traffic accidents is a number one cause of death for person between 15 and 20 years of age. This is a very disturbing fact, that something as mundane as driving kills more teenagers than disease or anything else.
In order to fight these grim statistics, the Registry of Motor Vehicles has developed a number of measures, which came to be known as the Junior Drivers License law or Massachusetts graduated drivers license program. The program features a number of restrictions and additional requirements that must be met by everyone who chooses to apply for a Massachusetts driver's license before reaching the age of 18 years. Similar programs exist in virtually every state today and they have proved their usefulness over the last couple of years.
Before you are allowed behind the wheel, the RMV needs to make sure that you have the health and knowledge required for operating a motor vehicle. As part of the application process, you will be required to go through vision screening and take the RMV permit test that covers the state driving laws.
We cannot stress the importance of seeing well while driving enough. Your car can cover great distances very quickly, so you need to be able to see well ahead. At the time when you submit your application for Massachusetts learner's permit, an RMV representative will be required to check your vision. You will be screened for visual acuity, color vision and peripheral vision.
If you are unable to take the vision exam at the RMV, you may have an eye care specialist fill out an RMV Vision Screening Certificate and bring it to your RMV appointment.
Your vision must be at least 20/40 visual acuity in your better eye and at least 120 degrees of horizontal peripheral vision. If you meet this standards, you can be issued with an unrestricted Massachusetts drivers license. If your vision is between 20/50 and 20/70, the daylight only restriction will be placed onto your drivers license.
Taking a Massachusetts permit test is a must for all first-time permit applicants. The knowledge exam consists of 25 multiple choice questions that cover the state driving rules, road signs and safe driving practices. In order to pass the test, you need to answer at least 18 of the permit test questions correctly.
The driver's permit test is based on the information put forth in the Massachusetts drivers manual, so you should make good use of the book when preparing for the exam. Once done with the book, you might want to try yourself at taking Massachusetts permit practice tests, just to see how well you can do on the real thing.
Your Massachusetts learners permit serves a dual purpose - it confirms that you are eligible to operate a vehicle and it also confirms your identity. The RMV needs to make sure that you are the person you claim to be before you can be issued with a permit, so you are required to present the following paperwork at the time when you submit your application:
- proof of birth date
- proof of Massachusetts residence
- proof of signature
- Social Security Number
If you are under 18 years of age at the time when you apply, your parents will need to grant their consent to you obtaining a permit by signing your application for Massachusetts drivers permit. You will not be licensed without parental consent.
Applying for Learners Permit - Under 18 Years of Age
You can apply for a learner's permit when you are at least 16 years of age. Although you are not required to complete a Massachusetts drivers education course at this point, you may just as well sign up and start taking the classroom part of the course now, since drivers education classes are a great study aid for those preparing to take the permit test at the RMV. Study the rules, then once you are ready, visit a local RMV office, take a vision exam and a permit test. If everything checks out and pass the tests, you will be issued with a Massachusetts drivers permit right there on the spot.
A parent or legal guardian will need to come down to the RMV office with you on the day when you submit your application for an instructional permit. The parent will need to sign your application form, you will not be able to obtain a drivers permit without parental signature on your application.
Applying for Drivers Permit - 18 Years of Age and Older
The application process for adults is exactly the same as for youngsters, minus parental consent. Study the driving rules, then visit a local RMV office to file your application. You cannot make an appointment for this transaction, permit applications are submitted on first come, first serve basis. When you arrive at the RMV, you will be required to take a vision exam and a permit test. If you successfully complete the tests, you are issued with a Massachusetts instructional permit.
Operating Under a Permit
The main purpose of your drivers permit is to allow you to practice driving before you take the Massachusetts driving test. You may practice driving with a person who is at least 21 years of age and holds a valid drivers license. Other Massachusetts permit restrictions may apply, depending on your age. These restrictions will be lifted once you pass the Massachusetts driving test.
Teenagers should keep in mind that they are issued with a junior license after the driving test is completed and they have to observe all Massachusetts junior license restrictions until they are at least 18 years of age.
As you may see, applying for a Massachusetts driving permit is not that hard. There is one advice we can give you and that is study as much as possible before you take on the permit test. Half of the first-time permit applicants fail the knowledge exam the first time they take it, make sure you are not among them.