Massachusetts Drivers License
Applying for a drivers license is not easy, especially if it's your first license. So many regulations to learn, so many rules to follow. For teenagers, the process of applying for a Massachusetts drivers license is even more complex, since they have to meet all graduated drivers license requirements before they can obtain a full unrestricted drivers license. Applying for a Washington driving license requires you to prove that you know the state driving laws, can control your vehicle and have the potential to become a safe and responsible driver. Those who currently hold a drivers license issued by another state or country may follow a simplified application procedure and not to submit to the same testing requirements as everyone else when submitting an application for a Massachusetts driver license.
Driver's License - Under 18 Years of Age
The Registry of Motor Vehicles in Massachusetts is well aware of the fact that teen drivers have higher crash rates than those who choose to obtain a drivers license after their 18th birthday. There are a number of factors in play here and lack of driving experience is just one of them. In order to counteract these factors, the RMV has developed a set of additional restrictions and requirements for those who wish to apply for a Massachusetts driving license before reaching the age of 18 years. These requirements were combined under the name of the Massachusetts graduate drivers license program or Junior License Operator program, which is the same thing.
You can enter the program when you are at least 16 years of age. Persons under the age of 16 years are not allowed to operate a vehicle in Massachusetts even if they have been licensed in a different state or country. When you meet the age requirement, visit the RMV and apply for Massachusetts learners permit. You are required to take a knowledge exam and go through vision screening at this point.
Once you have your learners permit, you are good to start practicing driving. Keep in mind that the permit does not grant you full driving privileges and you are to observe all Massachusetts driver permit restrictions whenever you are driving. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age who must be seated in the front seat whenever you are driving. The permit needs to be held for at least six months before you can go ahead and apply for a drivers license. During this period, you must complete an RMV-approved Massachusetts driver education course and receive at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice from your parents.
When all of the drivers permit requirements are met, you are good to schedule your driver's test and apply for a Massachusetts drivers license. Keep in mind that as a person under 18 years of age, you cannot be issued with a full unrestricted license. When you pass the driving test, you will be issued with a junior license and you will need to follow all Massachusetts junior driver's license restrictions until you can upgrade to a full license.
Driving License - 18 Years of Age and Older
Although the graduated license rules don't cover those who are applying for a Massachusetts driver license after their 18th birthday, all testing procedures remains the same. You have to start the way towards your drivers license by achieving a Massachusetts driver's permit. In order to do so, visit a local RMV branch, take a permit test, a vision exam and file all of the required paperwork. If you pass the tests, you are issued with an instruction permit and you are good to start practicing driving.
Just like teenage permit holders, you are not allowed to drive alone and must observe all drivers permit restrictions. You cannot drive alone and must have a person at least 21 years of age with a valid Massachusetts drivers license seated next to you whenever you are driving. You are not required to hold your permit for a certain period of time prior to scheduling your drivers license test, but we advise that you get as much practice as you can before you make your driving test appointment.
Once you pass your drivers license test, you are issued with a full unrestricted drivers license.
Driving is a serious matter and, if approached carelessly, may cost you not only money, but also your health. Even worse, you may injure others around you. So before you are allowed to start driving, you must undergo a number of testing procedures that will evaluate whether you mentally and physically up to the task. When you are applying for your first Massachusetts driver's license, you are required to take a vision exam, a knowledge test and a drivers license test.
Your vision must be at least 20/40 visual acuity in your better eye and at least 120 degrees of horizontal peripheral vision. If you meet this standards, you can be issued with an unrestricted Massachusetts drivers license. If your vision is between 20/50 and 20/70, the daylight only restriction will be placed onto your drivers license.
If you are unable to take the vision exam at the RMV, you may have an eye care specialist fill out an RMV Vision Screening Certificate and bring it to your RMV appointment.
If you wear glasses or contact lenses while taking the vision exam, you will also be required to wear them at all times while driving.
Drivers Permit Test
A knowledge exam is a must, no matter where you are applying for your drivers license. Passing the knowledge test proves that you know the driving rules and are prepared to follow them while operating a vehicle on public roads.
The Massachusetts permit test consists of 25 multiple choice questions and you need to answer at least 18 of them correctly if you want to pass the test. Permit test questions are based on the information contained in the Massachusetts drivers license handbook and you should make it your primary study guide if you want to pass the test the first time you take it.
If you are unsure whether you are prepared to take on the real drivers permit test, you may try yourself against Massachusetts drivers practice tests first. Drivers practice tests cover the same topics as the real exam and should give you a fair idea of you current preparation status.
Drivers License Test
You must meet all other drivers license requirements before you get to take your Massachusetts drivers license test. This is the ultimate assessment of your driving abilities - your control over the vehicle and your knowledge of driving rules. When it comes to passing the driving test, there should be no shortcuts. You must invest a lot of time into practicing driving and should approach this matter very seriously as your life may depend on it. Driving is so deeply integrated into our lives that we frequently fail to appreciate the danger it carries. Don't make this mistake and practice before you go in for your Massachusetts driving test.
The following paperwork will be required by the Registry of Motor Vehicles when you apply for your Massachusetts drivers license:
- proof of birth date
- proof of Massachusetts residence
- proof of signature
- Social Security Number
Everyone applying for a drivers license before reaching the age of 18 years if also required to complete a drivers education course and have the certificate of completion electronically transmitted to the RMV. On top that, your parents must grant their authorization to you being licensed and to provide a statement that you have completed the required 40 hours of supervised driving practice.