Texas 6 hour Drivers Ed - Adult Drivers Education in Texas
As the new rules are about to kick in, more people start looking for Texas drivers education classes. Starting March 01, 2010, all Texas drivers license applicants who are under 25 years of age will have to take a 6 hour drivers ed class.
New Driving Laws
In the mid 2009, a set of laws has been passed, some of them concern the licensing procedure and drivers education classes in Texas. The main change that came unexpected was that starting March 1 2010 all first-time Texas drivers license applicants will have to take some kind of a drivers ed class. Applicants who are under 18 years of age will be taking a regular program while applicants between 18 and 25 years old will have to participate in a 6 hour drivers ed class.
Where Can I Take 6 Hour Drivers Ed
At the moment, there is a number of driving schools that were approved by the Texas Education Agency. You can find the list of these schools at the TEA website. The school list may be updated and changes at any time, so make sure you check whether the school is certified to provide 6 hour driving ed classes before you go in for your lessons.
If you are a computer-oriented person, you may also take the 6 hours Texas drivers ed course online, just make sure that the driver's ed provider is certified by the state. Even through you take the actual course online, an in-person test may still be required.
Teen Driver Ed
The requirements for teen drivers education in Texas remain the same for now, that is, if the student wants to obtain a drivers license before he or she turns 18, a state-approved drivers education program must be completed. Teenagers have a choice between taking the course at high school, a commercial driving school or participating in one of the parent drivers ed programs.
Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed
Home study drivers education programs have been around for quite some time now and quite a few students choose this option to fulfill their drivers education requirements. There is a number of reasons why this type of education appeals to so many students, the main ones being the convenience of not having to travel anywhere, free schedule and, quite often, a lower price when compared to the in-class counterparts. At the moment, there are 8 different parent taught drivers education programs offered in Texas and you can complete any of them in order to meet the DPS requirements.
State-Approved Online Drivers Education Classes
At the moment, we know of two online Texas drivers education classes that satisfy the requirements set by the TEA for such programs.
Each one of these adult drivers education courses has its own advantages and disadvantages, so make sure to check out both before you purchase.