North Dakota Drivers Education
Thinking of applying for a drivers license and wonder if you have to take a North Dakota drivers education program? If you are between the ages of 14 and 16 - you do need to take the course. Anyone older than that is not required to register for the North Carolina drivers ed program, however we strongly advise that you don't skip on drivers ed as it gives you a great head-start on the road! If your driver education class did not include any practice exams and you would like some additional study resources, please check out our online North Dakota practice permit test!
Do I Have To Take Drivers Ed?
You must complete one of the driver's education classes if you are between the ages 14 and 16 and you would like to obtain a North Dakota drivers license some time soon. Mandatory drivers ed classes are part of the North Dakota graduated drivers license law and the only way to avoid taking the class is to wait it out - as soon as you turn 16, you don't have to do the class anymore, however you will still be required to do the same tests and meet all other drivers license requirements, don't think you can skimp on those.
How Old Do I Have To Be?
You will need to be at least 14 years old to start your North Carolina driver's education class. There is no reason in starting it sooner since you cannot be behind the wheel if you are younger than fourteen and you will not be able to take full advantage of the program. While the maximum age when drivers ed is an absolute must is 16, it does not mean you cannot take the class if you are older. Everyone is advised to go through drivers education, it really helps you learn the driving rules and prepare for the North Dakota permit test. Remember that the fact that you don't have to take driver ed does not mean that you can skip this test.
If you still don't want to take the class but would like to prepare for the permit test, there are other free ways to do so. Grab a copy of the North Dakota drivers manual and read it all the way through. Take notes as you go through the book. Once done, take a free North Dakota practice permit test and see how well you can do. Try to get your score up to 90-100% before you take the real permit exam. We offer a variety of practice tests, i.e. the North Dakota drivers practice test and the North Dakota DMV practice test, make sure to go through all of them and cover as many permit test questions as possible.
What Does Drivers Ed Include?
The North Dakota drivers education class is actually quite extensive and it usually involves at least 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of in car observation and 6 hours of behind the wheel driving. The state prefers if the course is taught concurrently and this means that you will be taking classroom lessons and behind the wheel lessons simultaneously. The good news is that you don't even have to apply for a North Dakota drivers permit prior to taking the class - the state allows you to drive a vehicle without a permit or a license if you are currently enrolled in a driver's education course and your driving instructor is seated with you. Keep in mind: you cannot drive with your parents until you get your permit, you can only drive with your drivers education instructor!
Where Can I Take Drivers Ed Classes?
There are quite a few places nowadays that offer drivers education classes: you may choose to complete the course through your local high school or do it at a professional driving school, it is your choice. The difference is usually in price: commercial driving schools will charge you a little more in most cases, so keep that in mind when shopping for the best program.
One question we receive quite frequently is “can I do North Dakota drivers education online?”. The answer is no, you cannot. While there are many websites that claims to offers North Dakota drivers ed classes online, they usually have fine print that tells you that the course may only be used for education purposes or that you need to obtain special permission from the DOT to take the course, etc. Of course, the DOT will never grant such permission and so it will be a waste of time and money for you. Make sure you take drivers ed through a state approved drivers education provider.