A new law which will go into effect this September will require all Virginia parents to take a 90 minute drivers education course. The class will educate parents on the dangers of teen driving and highlight the restrictions that are posed onto the drivers who are under 18 years of age. Teens won't be granted a driver's license unless their parents present proof that they completed one of these classes.
Applying for Virginia Drivers License
If you are applying for a Virginia drivers license, the application procedure largely depends on how old you are. If you are under 19 years of age, you are subject to the Virginia graduated license program and you have to complete a number of steps before you are awarded with a full drivers license. The graduated license program in Virginia can be divided into the following steps:
- Learn the road signs and traffic laws.
- Take a permit test at the DMV.
- Get your learners permit.
- Complete a drivers education class
- Hold your permit for at least 9 months and complete the required driving hours.
- Take a drivers license exam and get your license.
The steps were devised to slowly introduce teenagers to the world of driving and to allow them to gain some driving experience in a relatively safe driving environment before they start driving alone. Both the drivers permit and the drivers license that are received before the student turns 18 contains certain restrictions that help to reduce the number of distractions to the driver, consequently reducing the risks.
New Additions to The Graduated License Law
As of September 2010, the state will also require parents to take a certified drivers ed program for adults. Classes will be offered by both high schools and commercial driving schools and instructors in these classes will concentrate on teaching parents how to help their teenagers to get through the first years of driving. This is a welcome change as quite often parents are not up to date on the current Virginia permit or license restrictions and are unable to answer some of the questions that come to student's mind.
Unfortunately, there are no estimates as to the costs of the drivers education classes for parents as of yet, but it should not be too expensive, considering that the program is relatively short.