Alabama Driver License and Learner Permit FAQ
- How old do I have to be to get a drivers license in Alabama?
- How old do I have to be to get a learner permit in Alabama?
- Do I have to take a driver education course?
- Where can I take a driver education course?
- Where can I practice a free DMV permit test?
- How do I get a driver license if I am over 18 years old?
- Do I have to apply for a Alabama permit if I am over 18?
Do I have to take a driver education course?
According to Alabama laws, if you are under 17 and ½ years of age, you can choose between taking the driving lessons or completing a state-approved driver education course.
How do I get a driver license if I am over 18 years old?
If you are over 18 years old and would like to apply for a Alabama driver's license, you are not required to take any driver education or driver training courses. You may just schedule your appointment with the DPS, take your permit test and receive your learner permit. There is no minimum holding period for you so you can take a driving test and receive your driver license on the next day after receiving your permit. However, it is strongly advised that you take your time and practice driving before going for your test.
Do I have to apply for a Alabama permit if I am over 18?
Yes, you would still need to apply for a Alabama permit before you can be issued with a Alabama driver license. The only difference is that if you are over 18, you will not have to hold your learner permit for 6 months and you are not required to complete any driver education courses or driver training. All testing requirements remain the same. Take a free permit test to prepare for the test at the DPS.
|AL Driver License||AL Driver License steps|