Oklahoma Drivers License - OK Learners Permit
Looking to obtain your first Oklahoma driver license or Oklahoma learner permit? You found the right spot for instructions on obtaining the OK driver license, whether this is your first driver license or you are a new comer to the state and want to swap your existing driver license to the Oklahoma driver license.
Oklahoma Instruction Learner Permit
If you are a teenager seeking to obtain the Oklahoma driver license, you will need to start by obtaining the OK learner permit. And in order to do that, you must either be enrolled in a state-certified driver’s education course and be able to provide proof of enrollment, signed by your drivers education instructor, or be enrolled in the certified Oklahoma Parent Taught Driver Education course. The parent-taught driver education courses allow students to complete the course without having to attend the driving school and satisfy the OK requirements for the drivers ed.
Oklahoma Written Permit Test
No matter how old you are, you will still need to take the Oklahoma written permit test before you can be issued with an Oklahoma learner permit. The written permit test will evaluate your knowledge of Oklahoma traffic laws and road signs and ensure that you have the knowledge required to drive a vehicle. Make sure you are prepared for your Oklahoma written test by taking our free permit test! The practice tests we offer will prepare you for the real test at the DPS and make sure you will pass it the first time.
OK Learner Permit Application
Be prepared for your visit to the DPS when you go in to apply for the learner permit. When you visit the DPS, you must:
- provide proper identification
- provide your social security number
- be at least 15 ½ years old
- present proof that you are currently enrolled in one of the educational programs or are attending a public school.
- submit a certificate of completion for a driver education course or proof of being enrolled in the Oklahoma parent-taught driver education course
- submit the application for a driver license
- have your parent or legal guardian sign the application if you are under 18 years of age
- take a vision test
- take the written permit test
Once you pass the written permit test at the DPS, you will be issued with the Oklahoma instructional permit. Please note that even though the permit allows you do drive a vehicle, it has certain restriction and limitations that must be observed.
Oklahoma learner permit restrictions
- the OK learner permit holder must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 y.o. or older at all times
- no more than one passenger allowed in the vehicle unless the parent or legal guardian is occupying the front passenger seat of the vehicle
- no night-driving
If you fail to observe these limitation, your Oklahoma learner permit may be revoked and your application for Oklahoma driver license may be rejected.
Oklahoma Supervised Driving
There is a minimum holding period for every Oklahoma learner permit holder who is younger than 18. The permit must be held for at least 6 months and during this time, the permit holder must practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver 21 years old or older. If you did not take an Oklahoma parent-taught driver education course, you will also need to complete the compulsory 6 hours of behind the wheel instructions with a professional driving instructor. Taking a state-approved Oklahoma parent taught driver education course will allow you to avoid the compulsory training.
If you are over 18, the holding period is 30 days. You do not have to complete any compulsory courses; however, you must hold your Oklahoma learner permit for at least 30 days before you can apply for your driver license.
Applying for the Oklahoma Driver License
Be prepared when you come to the Oklahoma DPS to apply for your Oklahoma Driver License. When you come to the office, you must:
- be of legal age - 16
- must have held your Oklahoma instructional permit for the required period of time
- submit the affidavit of driver training
- provide proof of insurance for the vehicle you will be taking your test on
- pass the driving test
Once you pass the driving test, you will be issued the Oklahoma Driver License.