Joshua’s law is a manifestation of the Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program that is currently utilized in most states around the country. Joshua’s law targets teenage drivers license applicants and is intended to decrease the number of car accidents that involve teenage drivers.
Graduated Drivers License
The graduated drivers license system that is currently in place in most state introduces a multi-step procedure for obtaining a drivers license for teenagers. The system walks every applicant through consecutive stages, each one of them designed to allow the teenager to become a little more experienced with driving and ensuring that all learning materials provided previously were thoroughly absorbed. For most states, the Joshua’s law requires students to complete a drivers education course, take a written examination for a learners permit, then spend six months to a year driving under the supervision of a parent or a legal guardian before an application for a license can be filed. Even after this period, the teen is usually issued with what is called an interim drivers license - a document that allows teens to drive without a supervisor being present, but still posing certain limitations onto the driver. The regular drivers license is only issued once the student reaches the age of 17 or 18.
Joshua’s Law in Georgia
Georgia embraced the Joshua’s law in January 2007. The law outlines the procedure for obtaining a class D drivers license for those who are under 17 years of age. Per Joshua’s law, if a student wants to obtain a class D drivers license when they turn 16, they will be required to complete a state-approved 30 hour drivers education class. In addition to that, 40 hours of supervised driving must be completed with a parent or legal guardian, 6 hours being completed at night.
Joshua’s law only applies to class D drivers license applicants who are under 17. Those applicants who are already 17 years old or older do not need to take a drivers education class, however, Joshua’s law still requires them to take 40 hours of supervised driving before they can be issued with a license.