Florida Driver License - FL Learner permit
Florida Driver Education - TLSAE - DATA - ADAPT
If you are seeking to achieve a Florida driver license, the first step you should take is complete a state-approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. Note that driver license applicant’s age does not matter - if you want to obtain a Florida driver license, you will have to complete the driver education course (it may also be referred to as DATA course, ADAPT or “the 4-hour class”). Don’t be put off by this, the course only takes 4 hour to complete and you will be done in no time at all.
Florida Learner Permit Test - DHSMV Written Test
Upon completion of the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course you will be required to take the written permit test at the DHSMV. The permit test will have questions on traffic regulation, state-specific laws and road signs. Some of the information present on the test will also come from the “4-hour class”. You may choose to prepare for your test with our comprehensive Florida online permit tests that will prepare you for the real thing at the DHSMV.
Be Prepared For The Florida Learner Permit Application
When you visit the DHSMV office to apply for your Florida learner permit, you will have to:
- be 15 years old or older
- provide proof of social security number
- provide proof of birth date and legal presence
- show the DHSMV-approved certificate of completion for a driver education course
- have your photograph taken
- give a thumb print
- take a hearing test
- take a vision test
Once you provide all documents listed above, you will be allowed to take the Florida written permit test.
- Road Rules
- 20 multiple choice questions on road rules and traffic regulations. You must give at least 15 correct answers in order to pass this sections of the written test.
- Road Signs
- 20 multiple choice questions on road signs, both general and state-specific. You will need to provide at least 15 correct answers to pass this section of the permit test.
The passing score for Florida written permit test is 75%. To make sure you are prepared and pass your test the first time you take it, practice the free online permit test for Florida.
If you pass the learner permit test, you will be issued with the driving instruction permit.
Florida Driving Permit Restrictions
Although you might be thrilled that you can finally get behind the wheel and drive, make sure you observe all restrictions posed by the possession of the Florida learner permit.
- Florida learner permit restrictions
- Daylight driving only during the first 3 months
- Driving before 10pm after the first 3 months
- Supervised driving only
- The supervisor must be at least 21 years old and must hold a valid driver license number
Supervised Driving with Florida Learner Permit
If you are already over 18 years of age, there will be no minimum holding period for you and you can apply for a Florida driver license on the next day after you receive your Florida learner permit. However, we advise that you approach the Florida driver license application seriously and take at least a few driving lessons before you go in for your driving test.
If you are under 18 years of age, you will be required to hold your Florida learner permit for at least 12 months before you can apply for a Florida driver license and take your driving test. During this period, you must complete at least 50 hour of driving with the supervising driver. 10 hours of driving must be performed at nighttime.
According to the current Florida law, you are not required to take any driving lessons with a professional instructor before you apply for your Florida driver license. However, if you have never driven before, lessons overseen by a professional driving instructor may be much more beneficial than driving lessons performed by your neighbor.
Applying for a Florida Driver License - Taking a Florida Driving Test
Taking the driving test is one of the most stressful events for teenagers. The anxiety, “what ifs”, anticipation. Prepare for your driver license application and your road test before hand and reduce the chances of being denied the Florida driver license.
The first thing you should do is to make sure that you fulfill all the requirements set forth by the Florida DHSMV.
The second step you should take is setting up an appointment for the test with the local DHSMV office. You cannot take the driving test unless you have made a prior appointment.
When you arrive at the DHSMV office, you have to:
- be 16 years old or older
- if you are under 18, you must have held your Florida learner permit for at least 12 months
- if you are under 18 years old, you must have completed the required 50 hours of supervised driving
- have your parent or guardian sign the Affidavit for Minor to Be Licensed (may be obtained at the DHSMV office)
- present proof of personal injury protection insurance. You must also provide valid vehicle registration.
- pay the driver license fee. The current fee for a Florida driver license application is $20
When you pass your driving test, you are awarded with a Florida Driver License.